Nominations Open for The Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal

Ottawa, ON – David Anderson, MP for Cypress Hills-Grasslands is encouraging residents to nominate someone in their community for The Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal. Today marks the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the Throne as Queen of Canada. The occasion will be marked by the allocation of the medals to 60,000 outstanding Canadians who have contributed to the country through their service, contributions and achievements. Each Member of Parliament has been allocated 30 medals for distribution in their ridings.

“My riding is made up of many remarkable people who have done some amazing things to make their communities, and our province better. Here is an opportunity to highlight these great people, so they can be applauded for their efforts in this special way,” said Anderson.

Eligible recipients must:

1. Be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada (although not necessarily residing in Canada at the time of awarding);
2. have made a significant contribution to Canada or to a particular province, territory, region or community within Canada, or have made an outstanding achievement abroad that brings credit to Canada; and
3. be alive on February 6, 2012

The Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal is a tangible way for Canada to honour Her Majesty for her service to this country. At the same time, it serves to honour significant contributions and achievements by Canadians.

A short statement or a brief summary of your candidates’ achievements (40 words) must be provided, along with the following information about the nominee.

• full name
• rank and title
• home address
• telephone number
• short statement explaining the reason for the nomination
• photo (optional)

Please note the medal is to be awarded to individuals only. No group or couple nominations will be accepted. The selection process will be non-partisan and merit-based. The winners will receive their medals from David Anderson. If there are more than 30 requests/nominations, they will be vetted by a nomination committee.

“I would be proud to recognize, acknowledge and have the opportunity to say thank you, on behalf of the Government of Canada and the constituents of Cypress Hills-Grasslands,” concluded Anderson.

Please send completed applications to:
David Anderson, MP
2-240 Central Ave. N.
Swift Current, SK, S9H 0L2

For more information;, or 1-800-465-6890 (toll-free).