MP Anderson encourages nominations for the Prime Minister’s Volunteer Awards

SWIFT CURRENT, SK, January 2nd, 2012 – Nominations for the Prime Minister’s Volunteer Awards can now be made for deserving citizens of Cypress Hills-Grasslands. “In presenting the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal to 30 of my constituents, I realized the wealth of volunteerism in our communities. The Prime Ministers Volunteer Awards gives one more opportunity to recognize people who give so selflessly,” said David Anderson, MP for Cypress Hills-Grasslands.

“The Prime Minister’s Volunteer Awards have been established to recognize the contributions of volunteers, businesses and not-for-profit organizations that help make communities stronger,” said Anderson. “Deserving award recipients in Southwest Saskatchewan can now be nominated by their friends and neighbours,” said Anderson.

The call for nominations is open until March 1, 2013. There are a total of 17 awards given out across Canada in two categories of nominations. The regional component will recognize three outstanding individual volunteers or groups of volunteers, businesses and not-for-profit organizations in the Prairie region. There are two national awards: one for lifelong achievement and one for new volunteers. Award recipients will be recognized at an award ceremony, and can identify an eligible not-for-profit organization to receive a grant for $5,000 (regional award) or $10,000 (national award).

A nominator may be any person or organization with direct knowledge of the nominee’s contribution. Visit for more information about the awards and to access the online nomination form.

The announcement regarding the Prime Ministers Volunteer Awards was made in December by the Hon. Diane Finley, Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development. “The Government of Canada is proud of all of the Canadians whose voluntary work enriches our communities and exemplifies all that makes Canada such a great country. The Prime Minister’s Volunteer Awards are a celebration of their leadership, dedication, innovation and expertise,” said Finley.